Branch Diver Award

Course Overview

The Branch Diver Award is our first diver training qualification, training divers to a standard suitable for diving to a maximum of 15m and in conditions found in Scottish and UK waters.

The Branch Diver Award is taught within Branches of ScotSAC by qualified Instructors and includes elements of theory, confined water training (normally pool) and open water training (sea).

The award is internationally recognised and permits diving to a maximum depth of 15m.

Having completed this training programme satisfactorily, with a minimum of 3 hours underwater, the award will be completed and the trainee shall then be recognised as a Branch Diver. The depth limit for Branch Diver is 15m. The award is effective the date of the Branch Diving Officer's signature.



  • Be a current member of the Scottish Sub Aqua Club
  • Have a submitted a valid Medical Declaration
  • The minimum age for this training 14 years


Course Dates

Training for this award is conducted through our Branches - contact your Branch Diving Officer for further information.